Explore the best places
Monuments in Évora
Praça do Giraldo
The center of the city of Évora. Highlighting the typical neoclassical and romantic façades, dominated the wrought-iron balconies. There is the fountain of Praça do Giraldo, work of architect Afonso Álvares, built in 1571, in white marble, crowned by a bronze Crown.
Discover the charms of this town-museum, classified by UNESCO, in 1986, as a world heritage site, such is his legacy and historical wealth. Let yourself be guided through historic streets and squares, where past and present mingle; revel in the natural beauty of the surrounding landscapes, delivered to the sympathy of the people eborenses, sublime-eat cuisine, gasp with the traditions and typical handicrafts.
Rua da Igreja
This church has a rectangular plan and it is covered by polychrome glazed tiles from 1660, a bell ringer tower and an apse articulating four chapels. IT preserves the Manueline Calvary in marble and several sculptures. The main chapel possesses coverage in lancet vault with corbels decorated by wall paintings. The main altarpiece is with composite columns articulating niches filled with covered foot with the respective images.
Rua do Valasco
Church next to the Hospital Espírito Santo, with single construction.
The church underwent several improvements. From the fifteen hundreds primitive outline e from the manueline reform it only remains two apse chapels from the transept and traces from the primitive polygonal apse. On the inside it has a nave covered with a tunnel vault, the first of the seven original ranks is occupied by the high choir, lifted by an arch and Ionic pilasters, balustrade convoluted in ringlets effects. Presently it is occupied by a modern tourist property.
Rua Cândido dos Reis
This convent was founded in 1570 by Infant D. Maria of Portugal. It should be mentioned the church with one only nave, covered with tiles from the XVIII century and the two floors cloister with rectangular plan and simple lines.
Alcárcova de Baixo 59, Largo de São Vicente
This church was built above a chapel from the 15th century from which there still are two gothic doorways. On the inside it stands out the paintings, the altarpiece, the carved altar and the glazed tiles.