Explore the best places
Monuments in Porto
Rua Ferreira Borges, 27
Built to be the Banco Comercial do Porto, in 1843, it was sold in 1935 and became the headquarters of the Instituto do Vinho do Porto, manager and supervisor institution of the port wine. The magnificent skylight at the library room stands out.
Praça da Batalha
The São João Theatre was open in 1798, at the present Praça da Batalha. This theatre, which became the binding meeting point to the romantic generation, was destroyed by a fire in April, 1908. Nowadays, the Companhia Nacional do Teatro São João, totally rebuilt by Marques da Silva, is one of the main buildings in the city and stage for the most important cultural shows of the city.
Rua Guerra Junqueiro, 340
Synagogue of composite rectangular plant, with pure forms, volumes and plastered large spaces, large openings, domed and flat cover. Belongs to the Israeli community and preserves a rich history. This synagogue is the largest of the Iberian Peninsula and one of the largest in Europe. The visits are made only by appointment, from Sunday to Friday.
Largo Amor de Perdição
Contemporaneous of the emblematic and neighbour Clérigos Tower, this building of the XVIII century was, for many years, a prison. On its dungeons were men like the Duque da Terceira (a noble), Zé do Telhado (the portuguese version of Robin wood) e Camilo Castelo Branco (XIX century writer), who wrote there one of the most famous romances, “Amor de Perdição”. The main façade divides in three floors, having a central body slightly salient, on which the entrance portal is.
Rua de Santa Catarina, 112
More than a cafe, the Majestic symbolizes an important part of the city's history. It was inaugurated on the 17th of December 1921, with the name of Elite. In spite of the furor of the inauguration, this name did not last, changing from Elite to Majestic, name more appropriate to the spirit of the goers. Restored in the early 90s, it consists of a large rectangular room where, on both sides, there are bench seats, in engraved leather, in front of which are placed the tables and chairs. The plaster ceilings are meticulously crafted, the walls are mirrored, the floor …
Praça de Gomes Teixeira
This building was first the Real Academia da Marinha do Comércio, (Navy and Commerce Royal Academy), then the Academia Politécnica (Polytechnic Academy) that later became the Sciences Faculty. Its construction began before the first French invasion and finished in the XIX century, at the same spot where a former XVII century used to be: the Graça Church, annex to the Recolhimento dos Orfãos, founded in 1651 by the father Baltasar Guedes. The temple still existed during the city siege and, at that time, abandoned, it became a blood hospital. In the middle of the last century, it was demolished to …
Rua do Carmo, 1
Built between 1619 and 1628, it forms a unique body with the Carmo Church. Without exterior greatness, it has an austere baroque style. In the XIX century, the Municipal Guard, present GNR, was installed at the annexed convent. It has a simple façade, belonging to the ancient convent of the Carmelitas Descalças.
Terreiro da Sé
The Cathedral (Sé) is the main church of the city of Porto. It was erected in the 12th and 13th centuries. The first mass was held in the year 1120. In the thirteenth century, changes were made that completely altered the main portal. Reconstructed in Baroque style, it has kept only the rosette of its original construction. Nicolau Nasoni was the author of a galilee on the north facade and also intervened in the decoration of the sacristy. The interior conserves the images of Our Lady of Vandoma (14th century), the "silver altar", an important Gothic cloister, the "old cloister", …
Rua Ferreira Borges
The Palácio da Bolsa was built in the middle of the 19th century by the Porto Commercial Association. In neoclassical style, this building reflects the commercial flourishing of the city of Porto. All the rooms on the noble floor offer details that prove the enormous sumptuary interest: in furniture, in chandeliers and above all in ceilings, some of valuable wood. However, all covered with a thin film of gold, the Arab hall is the room that best crowns the huge investment of the nineteenth century Porto bourgeoisie.
Rua de São Filipe de Nery
It is, surely, the jewel of the city. A masterpiece of the Tuscan architect Nicolau Nasoni, the Tower built between 1731 and 1763 is a magnificent work of stonework, 75 meters high and whose 240 steps of the spiral staircase lead to a balcony located at the top and from where one can enjoy the gratifying views of the city and its surroundings.