Explore the best places
Parque Ambiental de Vilamoura
- country
- leisure
Quarteira
8125, Quarteira
The Vilamoura Environmental Park occupies an area of 200 ha of land owned by Vilamoura and was created with the aim of ensuring the preservation of ecosystems of great natural and landscape value. It integrates different areas of land occupation, which originates different types of habitats, with emphasis on wetlands dominated by reedbeds, areas of agricultural land, golf courses, and an area with dense riparian vegetation along the Ribeira de Quarteira.
Miradouro Wine Club
- food & drink
Lugar de Oucias
4970-105, Arcos de Valdevez
Situado na aldeia de Oucias, em Arcos de Valdevez, o Miradouro Wine Club promete trazer à montanha a melhor experiência vínica. Mesmo às Portas do Parque Nacional da Peneda Gerês, oferece cozinha de autor com uma ideologia sustentável assente no conceito "da quinta para a mesa". Para acompanhar, a Garrafeira conta com os clássicos, mas o principal ponto de escolha recai sobre a viticultura sustentável, com Vinhos Biodinâmicos, Orgânicos, Biológicos e Naturais.
Fonte Benémola
- heritage
EN510
8100, Querença
Located in the parishes of Querença and Tôr, the classified site of Fonte Benémola is an area of great beauty, where the Ribeira de Menalva (supplied by some springs) provides habitat for a flora dominated by ash trees, willows, tamarisks and leafy trees. The existence of water throughout the year is an attraction factor for a great diversity of faunal species, namely kingfishers, tits, herons, bee-eaters and otters.
Castelo de Loulé
- heritage
Rua Dom Paio Correia, 17
8100-564, Loulé
As in several villages in the Algarve, Loulé also accuses the presence of various peoples: Phoenicians, Carthaginians, Romans and Moors, who took over the city in 715. The Christian reconquest took place in 1249 and in 1268 the fortress was rebuilt and expanded, being rebuilt in the 16th century. Currently, there are some remains on Rua da Barbacã, Largo da Matriz and Rua Rainha Dona Leonor.
Ruínas do Castelo de Salir
- heritage
Rua dos Muros do Castelo
8100, Salir
Salir might have been the place where D. Paio Peres Correia awaited the arrival of D. Afonso III, so that together they could undertake the conquest of what remained in the province in the hands of the Moors. During the time of King Afonso III, this location became a stronghold, giving the castle a privileged role in the definitive conquest of the Algarve. It is presumed that the castle was burned down and rebuilt twice, and today only ruins of its walls remain.
Parque Natural da Ria Formosa
- country
- leisure
Avenida Ayrton Senna da Silva
8135, Quarteira
With an area of over 18,000 hectares, it is one of Algarve's ex-libris. A place of great natural beauty, it is home to around fifty different species of animals and plants. It is a large natural channel, which runs parallel to the sea.
Parque Municipal de Loulé
- country
- leisure
Avenida 25 de Abril
8100, Loulé
Leisure space in the center of Loulé, with extensive trees and garden areas for picnics. It also has maintenance circuits and is open every day, 24 hours a day.
Centro de Educação Ambiental Quinta do Passal
- art
Rua Clube Naval Infante D. Henrique
4420-412, Valbom
In an old reclassified agricultural property, visitors are invited to discover the rural world and to adopt sustainable lifestyle habits and to protect the environment, through a set of educational and leisure activities. It has themed gardens, a picnic area, biological vegetable gardens, bicycles, a treetop adventure park, a children's climbing wall and a Canine Training Centre.
Passeios no Rio Douro
- country
Medas
4515, Medas
With a privileged position next to the Douro, there are tourist entertainment companies that provide unforgettable trips along the river, allowing the rental of boats, jet-skis, sailing, canoeing and rowing or, for the less adventurous, simply a pleasant cruise on the river. The municipality also has marinas in Covelos and Melres, fully equipped to receive vessels.
Igreja Matriz de Rio Tinto/ Igreja de São Cristovão
- heritage
Largo do Mosteiro - Rua da Lourinha, 33
4435-346, Rio Tinto
18th century church rebuilt in 1830. In 1758 it is referred to as belonging to the Monastery of São Cristóvão de Rio Tinto. In this temple, the fronts with tiles and panels of saints, the two towers and the carillon with 17 bells deserve special mention. Its imposing facade is still evident.